Midwest Historical &

Genealogical Society

Wichita, Kansas

1889 City Directory

Wichita, Kansas

Transcription by Mary Broker.

Lodges and Societies Directory

Masonic Hall—Corner of First and Main

Wichita Lodge No. 99, A. F. & A.M. —Regular communications first and third Monday evenings each month; J. H. McCall, W M; C. A. Gates, S W; Ed Phillips, J W; L. D. Skinner, Tras; A. J. Applegate, Secy

Wichita Chapter No. 33, R. A. M—Meets second and fourth Fridays in each month. C. A. Gates, H P, Fred W. Sweet, Sec.

Wichita Council No. 12, R & S. M. —Meets second Tuesday in month. R. Allen Hall, T I M; C. E. Martin, Rec.

Mt. Olivet Commandery No. 12, K. T. —Meets first and third Fridays in each month. J. A. Hollinger, E C; C. E. Martin, Rec.

Sunflower Lodge No. 86, A. F. & A. M. —Meets second and fourth Tuesdays in each month at hall 1104 Chicago avenue (west side). J. H. Taylor, Acting W M; W. M. Starr, Sec

Ivy Leaf Chapter, O. E. S. —Meets first and third Tuesdays in each month. Mrs. E. E. Hall, W M; Miss May Pearse, Sec.

A A S R Masonry

Preceptory, cor Douglas and Fourth avenue

Elmo Lodge of Perfection No. 9—Ed Goldberg, V M; D. A. Mitchell, Sec.

Wichita Chapter Rose Croix No. 5—C. A. Gates, W M; D. A. Mitchell, Sec.

Wichita Council Knights Kadosh, No. 5—C. M. Jones, Commander; D. A. Mitchell, Sec.

Wichita Consistory No. 2, S P R S, 32 Degree—J. G. Smith, commander in Chief; O. P. Hood, Sec. Above bodies meet every Wednesday night.

I. O. O. F. Directory

I. O. O. F. No. 93—C. M. Acuff, N G; R. A. Spears, V G; A.. R. Clark, Rec Sec; A. J. Applegate, Finan Sec; F. P. Martin, Treas. Meeting Friday evening of each week ab 1330 n Main

Wichita Encampment No. 29—J. C. Herring, H P; R. A. Spears, C P; A. R. Clark, S W; N. Steffen, J W; A. J. Applegate, Scribe; W. P. Stem, Treas. Meets second and fourth Tuesday of each month

Wichita Canton No. 5 P. M. I. O. O. F. —R. A. Spears, Captain; A. R. Clark, Lieutenant; N. Steffen, Ensign; W. P. Stemm, Accountant. Meets first and third Tuesdays of each month.

Rebecca Degree Lodge No. 70 I. O. O. F. —Meets first and third Wednesday.

A. O. U. W. Directory

No. 22—Rufus Cone, M W; John A. Doran, Foreman; George B. Hickok, Overseer; J. R. Dutton, Recorder; O. Mulvey, Financier; J. A. Wallace, Receiver; John Albert, Guide; H. G. Staley, O W; R. R. Orr, I W; S. D. Hollowell, Jno A. Ratliff, C. K. Freeman, Trustees.

No. 271—A. D. Mallory, P M W; J. M. Minnick, M W; E. D. Carlton, F; W. B. Monroe, O; C. S. Smith, R; J. T. Dorsey, Rec; F. S. Ackerman, F; D. B. Duncan, G; W. R. Duncan, T W; C. B. Evans, O W. Trustees: W. A. Minnick, A. J. Applegate, S. Dunkin

Queen City Lodge, Degree of Honor—Jno A. Wallace, C of H; Emma Caswell, L of H; Mary Dutton, C of C; Martha Ratliff, Financier; Francis Wilke, Receiver; Gertrude Wallace, Sister usher; Jno A. Ratliff, O W; F. Wilke, I W; J. R. Dutton, Recorder.


G. A. R. —M. S. Rochelle, P C; W. P. Campbell, S V C; Benj F. Cullar, J V C; Jno A. Wallace, Adjt; N. E. Harmon, Chap; Henry Owen, Surg; Geo W. Huckens, O D; M. W. Coulter, Q M; Alfred Ratzell, O G; Edgar J. Foster, Q M S; J. D. Caldwell, S M.

Young Men’s Christian Association—Cor Topeka and First. H. Imboden, Pres; A. Baird, Gen Sec

W. C. T. U. —Pres, Mrs. Anna M. Taylor; V P, Mrs. Johnson; Sec, Mrs. S. E. Miller; F S, Mrs May Reed; C S, Mrs. M. L. Mason. Corner Market and William

Wichita Lodge No. 4 O. D. H. S. —Meets every Thursday evening at 117 n Market

Turnverein-Vorwærts—Gymnasium cor s Main and Bayley. Meets first and third Wednesday of each month.

Warwick Lodge No. 44 K. of P. —Wm H. Bridenbaugh, C C; C. E. Jackson, V C; Frank Bennett, P; Sam D. Carlton, K of R & S; M. E. Bourne, M of F; Ale Jobes, M of E; C. T. Purcell, M of A. Meets every Monday night in I. O. O. F. Hall ab 130 n Main.

I. O. R. M. —W. W. Haines, Pro; A. R. Clark, Sachem; A. W. Reeves, S S; Otto Zimmerman, J S; J. H. Snyder, C of R; W. H. Auchmoody, K of W. Meets second and fourth Thursday in each month.

Shaw’s Orchestra—Thos Shaw, Business Manager.

United States Government Signal Office—523 Sedgwick bldg. Dr. Fred L. Johnson, Observer.

School Board—M. W. Levy, Pres; Alfred C. Burwell, Clerk; J. N. Howard, R. E. Lawrence, W. R. Tucker, G. E. Campbell, J. J. Fegtly, R. M. Piatt, W. P. McNair, L. W. Clapp, S. D. Pallett. Meets first Monday evening of each month at City Council Chamber.




City Directory

Business Directory

Street Directory

Official Directory



Back to Directory Index Blue Skyways KSGenWeb Back to MHGS Home Page

Maintained by Midwest Historical & Genealogical Society as part of the KSGenWeb Project.
Material on this page is the property of the Society and all rights are reserved.
Should you find a link that does not work properly please notify the webmaster.